Alphabetical Listing

Professors Augustine and Shaw with the delegation of professors and students visiting from Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile.
Professors Matt Augustine and Jared Shaw with the delegation of professors and students visiting from Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile. (PC: Minh Hoang)

See People for a more comprehensive photo directory of our faculty (does not include Graduate Group Faculty).


Alphabetical Listing

  • James Ames | Biophysical chemistry and structural biology
  • Shota Atsumi | Synthetic biology and metabolic engineering
  • Matthew Augustine | Magnetic and optical resonance applications to emerging problems
  • Alan Balch | Endohedral fullerenes; luminescence for metal-metal bonding
  • Peter Beal | Nucleic acids chemical biology
  • Louise Berben | Synthetic and physical inorganic chemistry
  • R. David Britt | Biological and synthetic energy catalysis, metalloenzymes, EPR spectroscopy
  • William Casey | Reaction kinetics in geochemistry; aqueous clusters
  • Julia Chamberlain | Active and collaborative learning strategies, education technology, and course transformation
  • Xi Chen | Chemical biology/glycoscience
  • Kyle Crabtree | Astrochemistry, microwave spectroscopy and low-temperature kinetics
  • Stephen Cramer | Synchrotron x-ray and campus-based vibrational spectroscopy and nitrogenase and hydrogenase
  • Sheila David | Chemical biology of DNA repair
  • Davide Donadio | Theory of nanostructures, interfaces and transport phenomena
  • Alexander Dudnik | Organic synthesis, catalysis, polymer chemistry and organic materials
  • Claire Filloux | Philosophy of science, organic chemistry curriculum development
  • Andrew Fisher | Protein structure-function and X-ray crystallography
  • Annaliese Franz | Organic synthesis, catalysis, and biofuels
  • Jacquelyn Gervay-Hague | Natural products synthesis, tea chemistry, and phytoceuticals
  • David Goodin | Metalloenzyme structure and function
  • Ozcan Gulacar | Problem solving, cognition, and educational technology
  • Ting Guo | X-ray nanochemistry
  • Marie Heffern | Bioinorganic chemistry in nutrition and diseases, chemical biology and imaging
  • Susan Kauzlarich | Synthesis and characterization of inorganic solid state and nanomaterials for emerging technologies
  • Kristie Koski | Materials and condensed matter chemistry
  • Mark Kurth | Diversity-oriented synthesis and chemical biology
  • Donald Land | Interfacial spectroscopy and microscopy of dynamic systems
  • Delmar Larsen | Photoactivated dynamics in sensory proteins and photocatalysis
  • Carlito Lebrilla | Bioanalytical mass spectrometry
  • Gang-yu Liu | Nanoscience and nanoengineering, bioanalytical chemistry
  • Mark Mascal Organic synthesis, bioenergy research, molecular modeling
  • C. William McCurdy | Theory of ultrafast UV and X-ray laser interactions with molecules
  • Alexandra Navrotsky | Energetics of ceramic, earth, environmental, and nanophase materials
  • Cheuk-Yiu Ng | Chemical structures and dynamics by state-to-state spectroscopy
  • David Olson | Organic synthesis and chemical neuroscience
  • Frank Osterloh | Inorganic nanomaterials for solar energy conversion
  • Philip Power | Synthesis, physical, catalytic and magnetic properties of inorganic and organometallic compounds
  • Neil Schore | Organic synthesis with polymers, dendrimers, organometallics
  • Jared Shaw | Synthetic methods, natural products, chemical biology
  • Justin Siegel | Computational enzyme design
  • Alexei Stuchebrukhov | Electron and proton transfer dynamics in condensed phases
  • Dean Tantillo | Theoretical organic chemistry, natural products biosynthesis
  • Michael Toney | Enzyme catalysis, functional genomics, and biofuel cells
  • Jesús Velázquez | Synthesis and characterization of materials at the meso/nanoscale for energy conversion and environmental remediation
  • Lee-Ping Wang | Energy conversion in catalysis and biomolecules; theoretical and computational chemistry

Graduate Group Faculty

A key concept of graduate education at UC Davis is the graduate group.  Our graduate programs are organized as interdisciplinary graduate groups, giving students intellectual freedom to transcend disciplines and areas of research.

The following faculty are members of the Chemistry Graduate Group with primary appointments outside of the Department of Chemistry.

  • Enoch Baldwin | Molecular and cellular biology
  • Oliver Fiehn | Mass spectrometry and computation chemistry for metabolomics
  • J. Clark Lagarias | Structure, function and evolution of bilin-based photoreceptors
  • Kit Lam | Lymphoma, targeted therapy for cancer, molecular imaging, drug development and combinatorial chemistry
  • Angelique Louie | Molecular imaging and novel imagine probes
  • Adam Moule | Characterization of materials and devices for solution processable photovoltaic devices
  • Atul Parikh | Biomolecular materials, synthetic chemical biology, soft condensed matter
  • David Wilson Structural biochemistry
  • Heike Wulff | Design of potassium channel modulators