Miller Symposium Schedule

2023 Miller Symposium Schedule

April 13-14, 2023


Thursday, April 13    
12:45 pm PST  

Opening Remarks 

Shota Atsumi, Chair, Miller Committee

Estella Atekwana, Dean, College of Letters and Science

1:00 pm PST
David Liu

Opening Plenary - Virtual Speaker

David Liu, Broad Institute, Harvard University, HHMI

“Base Editing and Prime Editing to Correct Mutations that Cause Genetic Disease in Cells, Animals, and Patients"

2:00 pm PST
Matt Bogyo

Matthew Bogyo, Stanford University

"Covalent chemistry: probes for identification and imaging of enzymes involved in the pathogenesis of cancer and infectious diseases"

2:45 - 3:00 pm PST  



3:00 - 3:20 pm PST
Jared Shaw

Najafi Award Presentation

Jared Shaw, UC Davis

3:20 pm PST
Jeff Butler


Jeff Butler, AMPAC Fine Chemicals

"Influencing Bonds: Developing Chemists, Processes, & Medicines"

4:00 - 4:15 pm PST  


4:15 pm - 5:00 pm PST   Poster Lightning Talks (In person only)
5:00 pm - 7:00 pm PST   Poster Session (In person only)
Friday, April 14    
8:50 am PST  

Opening Remarks 

Dave Goodin, Chair, Department of Chemistry

9:00 am PST
Marie Heffern

Marie Heffern, UC Davis

"Exploring Extracellular Metal Dynamics to Uncover Biomarkers in Metabolic Diseases"

9:50 am PST
Nate Hathaway

Nate Hathaway, University of North Carolina

"Precision Control of Transcription Using Chemical Epigenetic Modifiers"

10:40 - 11:00 am PST   Break
11:00 am PST
Sanjeev Redkar

Sanjeev Redkar, Apollomics

"The HGF/cMet Pathway in Cancer – early development to clinical evidence”

11:50 am PST
Arthur Wellman

Special Address

Arthur Wellman, Jr., Pranger Law PC

12:10 - 1:20 pm PST   Lunch
1:20 pm PST
Ellen Sletten

Ellen Sletten, UC Los Angeles

"Multiplexed in vivo imaging with near and shortwave infrared polymethine fluorophores"

2:10 pm PST
Martin Eastgate

Martin Eastgate, BMS

“Innovation in the Synthesis of Complex Pharmaceuticals"

3:00 pm PST  


3:20 pm PST   Discussion panel with invited speakers (In person only)
4:00 pm - 4:15 pm PST   Announcement of Awards
4:15 pm PST
Paula Hammond


Paula Hammond, MIT

“Tailored Targeting of Cells and Tissues using Charged Polymer Nanosystems"

6:00 pm PST   Symposium Concludes