Department News

  • Assistant Professor Jesus Velazquez has been named to the Chemical & Engineering News Talented Twelve. Congratulations! (For more information see the announcement from the college of L&S).
  • Erin Doherty (Beal Lab) was just notified that she will be receiving an NIH F31 Ruth L. Kirschstein Predoctoral Individual National Research Service Award, a highly prestigious, nationally competitive pre-doctoral fellowhship from the NIH. Congratulations!
  • Assistant Professor Marie Heffern has won an NSF CAREER award for her proposal titled "CAREER: Elucidating the Interaction Dynamics of Soil Metals with Flavonoids in the Plant Rhizosphere".  Congratulations!
  • The DOE ARPA-E program has awarded three new biofuels research grants to UC Davis totaling $4.5 million featuring the research of Shota Atsumi, Justin Siegel and Louise Berben. Congratulations!
  • Congratulations to David Olson and Mark Mascal for being named as UC Davis Chancellor's Innovators of the Year!
  • Madeleine Bright '21, a member of Professor Sheila David's research group, is recognized as the top graduating senior at UC Davis. Congratulations!
  • The 2021 Paul Saltman Young Investigator Awardees are Assistant Professor Marie Heffern and former Britt lab postdoc Dan Suess (currently Assistant Professor at MIT). This prestigious award is given in honor of Paul Saltman, a pioneer in understanding the roles of metals in human health, and comes with an Award Lecture at the Metals in Biology Gordon Research Conference.  Congratulations!!
  • Chemistry Alumni Dr. Richard Osibanjo returned to UCD as a Keynote Speaker for the 2021 Undergraduate Research, Scholarship & Creative Activities Conference. Watch a recording of his inspiring talk: DARE: Discovering Your Purpose and Living On The Other Side of Fear".
  • Congratulations to undergraduate students Magda Tellez Chavez and Mira Milic (Franz Lab) for having their artwork and research featured on the cover of JOC, along with undergraduate co-authors Madison Thompson and Karina Targos (class of '19)!
  • Congratulations to Croix Laconsay (Tantillo Lab) for being selected to receive the Chemical Computing Group Excellence Award!  Croix will participate in the CCG awards poster presentation session at the Fall 2021 ACS meeting.
  • Assistant Professor David Olson has been selected as one of sixteen Camille & Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholars for 2021. Congratulations!
  • Distinguished Professor Emeritus Bill Jackson has received the National Science Board's Public Service Award in recognition of his leadership in chemistry research as well as being a mentor and advocate for increasing minority participation in science.  Congratulations and well deserved!
  • Be sure to check out the fantastic tour on Instagram Live that Dr. Bryan Enderle recently gave of the Chemistry department, what a great way to share our space and campus.
  • Congratulations to former R. David Britt postdoc Dr. Bryan Hunter, who is joining the Chemistry faculty at Northwestern University this Fall!
  • Assistant Professor Kyle N. Crabtree has received a notice of award from the NSF CAREER program to study reactions of complex organic molecules in interstellar clouds.  Congratulations!!
  • We are excited to welcome Dr. Chenchen Song, who will join our department as an Assistant Professor in the field of Theoretical Chemistry in 2021!
  • We are excited to welcome Dr. Cody Pitts, who will join our department as an Assistant Professor in the field of Organic Chemistry in 2021!
  • Distinguished Professor R. David Britt has been elected a Fellow of the International Society of Magnetic Resonance (ISMAR), the only international scientific organization that represents the whole range of the important research field of magnetic resonance (MR). ISMAR elects only four Fellows each year, thus Professor Britt is joining a highly rarefied group of the world's leading researchers. Congratulations!

[ more News⇒  and  Honors and Awards⇒ ]