• Dr. Muhammad Hagras (Stuchebrukhov Lab) has recently launched the Electron Tunneling in Proteins (ETP) program that automates the electron tunneling calculations and analyzes and visualizes the results. ETP different tunneling visualization outputs appeared on the cover images of the most recent issue of the Journal of Computational Chemistry.
  • Showcasing natural products in the gardens they come from - Two exhibits in the UC Davis Arboretum educate visitors about chemicals found in plants
  • Faculty, staff and students on the Educational Outreach Committee and Chemistry Club performed four shows to "sold out" audiences in Rock Hall for Picnic Day. Under the leadership of Professor Kyle Crabtree, the EOC completely revamped the show this year to highlight how the chemistry demonstrations tied into the current research of faculty in our department.
  • Graduate student Hoby Wedler (Tantillo Lab) was featured in a Nature story about early-career scientists who face physical challenges such as blindness, deafness or paralysis.
  • UC Davis has been ranked as the #1 best value college for women in STEM by Forbes magazine, topping such heavyweights as Cornell and Johns Hopkins.

[ more News⇒ ]


  • Undergraduate student Colin Unger (Kovnir Lab) was awarded "Best Student Presentation" at this year's Larock Conference for presenting outstanding work on the syntehsis of transition metal cholride formate compounds. Second prize was awarded to Sahana Rajan (Ames Lab) for her groundbreaking studies on L-type Ca2+ channels in the brain. Third prize was shared by Sydnee Green (David Lab) for her work on DNA repair enzymes and Andrew Teuthorn (Kurth Lab) for his studies on benzoisoxazoles.
  • Undergraduate student Ada Kwong (Shaw Lab) was selected as a 2016-17 Beckman Scholar, one of the most prestigious undergraduate science fellowship programs on campus.
  • Graduate student Joshua Greenfield (Kovnir Lab) was selected as a 2016-17 ARCS Scholar. This honor comes with a $10,000 award that may be used for fees, stipend and/or research funds. He is the second student from the Kovnir Lab to receive this award.
  • Undergraduate student Anna Johnston was selected as this year's recipient of the Adams Award for Leadership by the UC Davis Center for Student Involvement, recognizing her outstanding contributions as President of Chemistry Club.

[ more Honors and Awards⇒ ]


We currently have no employment opportunities available within the department. Please check back often. For other jobs at UC Davis, please visit


"The Department of Chemistry is committed to fostering a multicultural academic environment that supports the success of all members of our community, with the belief that this diversity strengthens and enriches our research, scholarship and teaching."

[ click for Resources⇒ ]



Periodic table

General Inquiries

Email or click here for a directory of department administration. We are located in the Chemistry Building and the adjacent Chemistry Annex (map).


Make a Gift