Faculty By Discipline

Analytical Chemistry
Berben, Louise A. Synthetic and physical inorganic chemistry laberben@ucdavis.edu 3465 Chemistry Annex
Casey, William H. Reaction kenetics in geochemistry; aqueous clusters whcasey@ucdavis.edu 1480 Chemistry Annex
Cramer, Stephen P. Synchrotron x-ray and campus-based vibrational spectroscopy and nitrogenase and hydrogenase spjcramer@ucdavis.edu
Guo, Ting X-ray nanochemistry tguo@ucdavis.edu 226 Chemistry
Land, Donald P. Interfacial spectroscopy and microscopy of dynamic systems dpland@ucdavis.edu
208 Chemistry
Larsen, Delmar S. Photoactivated dynamics in sensory proteins and photocatalysis dlarsen@ucdavis.edu 214 Chemistry
Lebrilla, Carlito B. Bioanalytical mass spectrometry cblebrilla@ucdavis.edu
2465 Chemistry Annex
Liu, Gang-yu Nanoscience and nanoengineering, bioanalytical chemistry gyliu@ucdavis.edu
322 Chemistry
Velázquez, Jesús M. Synthesis and characterization of materials at the meso/nanoscale for energy conversion and environmental remediation. jevelazquez@ucdavis.edu
5471 Chemistry Annex
Bioinorganic Chemistry
Balch, Alan L. Endohedral fullerenes; luminescence for metal-metal bonding albalch@ucdavis.edu 220 Chemistry
Britt, R. David Biological and synthetic energy catalysis, metalloenzymes, EPR spectroscopy rdbritt@ucdavis.edu 190 Chemistry
David, Sheila S. Chemical biology of DNA repair ssdavid@ucdavis.edu 2471 Chemsitry Annex
Goodin, David B. Metalloenzyme structure and function dbgoodin@ucdavis.edu 308 Chemistry

Heffern, Marie

Bioinorganic chemistry in nutrition and diseases, chemical biology and imaging mcheffern@ucdavis.edu 
Biophysical Chemistry
Ames, James B. Biophysical chemistry and structural biology jbames@ucdavis.edu 126 Chemistry
Augustine, Matthew P. Magnetic and optical resonance applications to emerging problems maugust@ucdavis.edu 69 Chemistry
Britt, R. David Biological and synthetic energy catalysis, metalloenzymes, EPR spectroscopy rdbritt@ucdavis.edu 190 Chemistry
Fisher, Andrew J. Protein structure-function and X-ray crystallography ajfisher@ucdavis.edu
4A Briggs Hall
Goodin, David B. Metalloenzyme structure and function dbgoodin@ucdavis.edu 308 Chemistry
Guo, Ting X-ray nanochemistry tguo@ucdavis.edu 226 Chemistry

Heffern, Marie

Bioinorganic chemistry in nutrition and diseases, chemical biology and imaging mcheffern@ucdavis.edu 
Larsen, Delmar S. Photoactivated dynamics in sensory proteins and photocatalysis dlarsen@ucdavis.edu 214 Chemistry
Siegel, Justin B. Computational enzyme design jbsiegel@ucdavis.edu 1315 GBSF (Genome Center)
Stuchebrukhov, Alexei Electron and proton transfer dynamics in condensed phases aastuchebrukhov@ucdavis.edu 163B Chemistry
Toney, Michael D. Enzyme catalysis, functional genomics, and biofuel cells mdtoney@ucdavis.edu 2469 Chemistry Annex
Chemical Biology
Ames, James B. Biophysical chemistry and structural biology jbames@ucdavis.edu 126 Chemistry
Atsumi, Shota Synthetic biology and metabolic engineering satsumi@ucdavis.edu 218 Chemistry
Beal, Peter A. Nucleic acids chemical biology pabeal@ucdavis.edu 5469 Chemistry Annex
Britt, R. David Biological and synthetic energy catalysis, metalloenzymes, EPR spectroscopy rdbritt@ucdavis.edu 190 Chemistry
Chen, Xi Chemical biology/glycoscience xiichen@ucdavis.edu 212 Chemistry
David, Sheila S. Chemical biology of DNA repair ssdavid@ucdavis.edu 2471 Chemsitry Annex
Fisher, Andrew J. Protein structure-function and X-ray crystallography ajfisher@ucdavis.edu 4A Briggs Hall
Franz, Annaliese K. Organic synthesis, catalysis, and biofuels akfranz@ucdavis.edu 314 Chemistry
Gervay-Hague, Jacquelyn Carbohydrate synthesis, biological profiling, and vaccine design jgervayhague@ucdavis.edu 5463 Chemistry Annex
Goodin, David B. Metalloenzyme structure and function dbgoodin@ucdavis.edu 308 Chemistry
Guo, Ting X-ray nanochemistry tguo@ucdavis.edu 226 Chemistry

Heffern, Marie

Bioinorganic chemistry in nutrition and diseases, chemical biology and imaging mcheffern@ucdavis.edu 
Kurth, Mark J. Diversity-oriented synthesis and chemical biology mjkurth@ucdavis.edu 5467 Chemistry Annex
Lebrilla, Carlito B. Bioanalytical mass spectrometry cblebrilla@ucdavis.edu 2465 Chemistry Annex
Olson, David E. Organic synthesis and chemical neuroscience deolson@ucdavis.edu
2463 Chemistry Annex
Shaw, Jared T. Synthetic methods, natural products, chemical biology jtshaw@ucdavis.edu 326 Chemistry
Siegel, Justin B. Computational enzyme design jbsiegel@ucdavis.edu 1315 GBSF (Genome Center)
Tantillo, Dean J. Theoretical organic chemistry, natural products biosynthesis djtantillo@ucdavis.edu 4465 Chemistry Annex
Toney, Michael D. Enzyme catalysis, functional genomics, and biofuel cells mdtoney@ucdavis.edu 2469 Chemistry Annex
Chemistry Education
Chamberlain, Julia

Active and collaborative learning strategies, education technology, and course transformation

jchamberlain@ucdavis.edu

216 Chemistry
Filloux, Claire

Philosophy of science, organic chemistry curriculum development

cmfilloux@ucdavis.edu

3469 Chemistry Annex
Gulacar, Ozcan

Problem solving, cognition, and educational technology

ogulacar@ucdavis.edu
316 Chemistry
Larsen, Delmar S. Photoactivated dynamics in sensory proteins and photocatalysis dlarsen@ucdavis.edu 214 Chemistry
Environmental Chemistry
Berben, Louise A. Synthetic and physical inorganic chemistry  laberben@ucdavis.edu 3465 Chemistry Annex
Casey, William H. Reaction kinetics in geochemistry; aqueous clusters whcasey@ucdavis.edu 1480 Chemistry Annex
Cramer, Stephen P. Synchrotron x-ray and campus-based vibrational spectroscopy and nitrogenase and hydrogenase spjcramer@ucdavis.edu
Guo, Ting X-ray nanochemistry tguo@ucdavis.edu 226 Chemistry
Inorganic Chemistry
Balch, Alan L. Endohedral fullerenes; luminescence for metal-metal bonding albalch@ucdavis.edu 220 Chemistry
Berben, Louise A. Synthetic and physical inorganic chemistry laberben@ucdavis.edu 3465 Chemistry Annex
Britt, R. David Biological and synthetic energy catalysis, metalloenzymes, EPR spectroscopy rdbritt@ucdavis.edu 190 Chemistry
Chamberlain, Julia Active and collaborative learning strategies, education technology, and course transformation  jchamberlain@ucdavis.edu 216 Chemistry
Cramer, Stephen P. Synchrotron x-ray and campus-based vibrational spectroscopy and nitrogenase and hydrogenase spjcramer@ucdavis.edu

Heffern, Marie

Bioinorganic chemistry in nutrition and diseases, chemical biology and imaging mcheffern@ucdavis.edu 
Kauzlarich, Susan M. Synthesis and characterization of inorganic solid state and nanomaterials for emerging technologies smkauzlarich@ucdavis.edu  206 Chemistry
Kovnir, Kirill Novel materials for energy kkovnir@ucdavis.edu 210 Chemistry
Navrotsky, Alexandra Energetics of ceramic, earth, environmental, and nanophase materials anavrotsky@ucdavis.edu 4440 Chemistry Annex
Osterloh, Frank E. Inorganic nanomaterials for solar energy conversion fosterloh@ucdavis.edu 2467 Chemistry Annex
Power, Philip P. Synthesis, physical, catalytic and magnetic properties of inorganic and organometallic compounds pppower@ucdavis.edu 128 Chemistry
Velázquez, Jesús M. Synthesis and characterization of materials at the meso/nanoscale for energy conversion and environmental remediation. jevelazquez@ucdavis.edu
5471 Chemistry Annex
Materials Chemistry
Donadio, Davide Theory of nanostructures, interfaces and transport phenomena

ddonadio@ucdavis.edu

163A Chemistry
Dudnik, Alexander Organic synthesis, catalysis, polymer chemistry and organic materials

adudnik@ucdavis.edu

318 Chemistry
Guo, Ting X-ray nanochemistry tguo@ucdavis.edu 226 Chemistry
Kauzlarich, Susan M. Synthesis and characterization of inorganic solid state and nanomaterials for emerging technologies smkauzlarich@ucdavis.edu 206 Chemistry
Koski, Kristie Materials and condensed matter chemistry koski@ucdavis.edu 222 Chemistry
Kovnir, Kirill Novel materials for energy kkovnir@ucdavis.edu 210 Chemistry
Liu, Gang-yu Nanoscience and nanoengineering, bioanalytical chemistry gyliu@ucdavis.edu 322 Chemistry
Navrotsky, Alexandra Energetics of ceramic, earth, environmental, and nanophase materials anavrotsky@ucdavis.edu 4440 Chemistry Annex
Osterloh, Frank E. Inorganic nanomaterials for solar energy conversion fosterloh@ucdavis.edu 2467 Chemistry Annex
Velázquez, Jesús M. Synthesis and characterization of materials at the meso/nanoscale for energy conversion and environmental remediation. jevelazquez@ucdavis.edu
5471 Chemistry Annex
Organic Chemistry
Beal, Peter A. Nucleic acids chemical biology pabeal@ucdavis.edu 5469 Chemistry Annex
Chen, Xi Chemical biology/glycoscience xiichen@ucdavis.edu 212 Chemistry
David, Sheila S. Chemical biology of DNA repair ssdavid@ucdavis.edu 2471 Chemsitry Annex
Dudnik, Alexander Organic synthesis, catalysis, polymer chemistry and organic materials

adudnik@ucdavis.edu

318 Chemistry
Franz, Annaliese K. Organic synthesis, catalysis, and biofuels akfranz@ucdavis.edu 314 Chemistry
Gervay-Hague, Jacquelyn Carbohydrate synthesis, biological profiling, and vaccine design jgervayhague@ucdavis.edu 5463 Chemistry Annex
Kurth, Mark J. Diversity-oriented synthesis and chemical biology mjkurth@ucdavis.edu 5467 Chemistry Annex
Mascal, Mark Organic synthesis, bioenergy research, molecular modeling mjmascal@ucdavis.edu 306 Chemistry
Olson, David E. Organic synthesis and chemical neuroscience deolson@ucdavis.edu
2463 Chemistry Annex
Schore, Neil E. Organic synthesis with polymers, dendrimers, organometallics neschore@ucdavis.edu 320 Chemistry
Shaw, Jared T. Synthetic methods, natural products, chemical biology jtshaw@ucdavis.edu 326 Chemistry
Tantillo, Dean J. Theoretical organic chemistry, natural products biosynthesis djtantillo@ucdavis.edu 4465 Chemistry Annex
Toney, Michael D. Enzyme catalysis, functional genomics, and biofuel cells mdtoney@ucdavis.edu 2469 Chemistry Annex
Physical Chemistry
Ames, James B. Biophysical chemistry and structural biology jbames@ucdavis.edu 126 Chemistry
Augustine, Matthew P. Magnetic and optical resonance applications to emerging problems maugust@ucdavis.edu 069 Chemistry
Britt, R. David Biological and synthetic energy catalysis, metalloenzymes, EPR spectroscopy rdbritt@ucdavis.edu 190 Chemistry
Crabtree, Kyle N. Astrochemistry, microwave spectroscopy and low-temperature kinetics

kncrabtree@ucdavis.edu

190 Chemistry
Cramer, Stephen P. Synchrotron x-ray and campus-based vibrational spectroscopy and nitrogenase and hydrogenase spjcramer@ucdavis.edu 3009 Ghausi Hall
Donadio, Davide Theory of nanostructures, interfaces and transport phenomena

ddonadio@ucdavis.edu

163A Chemistry
Guo, Ting X-ray nanochemistry tguo@ucdavis.edu 226 Chemistry
Koski, Kristie Materials and condensed matter chemistry koski@ucdavis.edu 222 Chemistry
Land, Donald P. Interfacial spectroscopy and microscopy of dynamic systems dpland@ucdavis.edu 208 Chemistry
Larsen, Delmar S. Photoactivated dynamics in sensory proteins and photocatalysis dlarsen@ucdavis.edu 214 Chemistry
Liu, Gang-yu Nanoscience and nanoengineering, bioanalytical chemistry gyliu@ucdavis.edu 322 Chemistry
McCurdy, C. William Theory of ultrafast UV and X-ray laser interactions with molecules cwmccurdy@ucdavis.edu 163E Chemistry
Ng, Cheuk-Yiu Chemical structures and dynamics by state-to-state spectroscopy cyng@ucdavis.edu 5465 Chemistry Annex
Stuchebrukhov, Alexei Electron and proton transfer dynamics in condensed phases aastuchebrukhov@ucdavis.edu 163B Chemistry
Theoretical Chemistry
Donadio, Davide Theory of nanostructures, interfaces and transport phenomena

ddonadio@ucdavis.edu

163A Chemistry
McCurdy, C. William Theory of ultrafast UV and X-ray laser interactions with molecules cwmccurdy@ucdavis.edu 163E Chemistry
Stuchebrukhov, Alexei Electron and proton transfer dynamics in condensed phases aastuchebrukhov@ucdavis.edu 163B Chemistry
Tantillo, Dean J. Theoretical organic chemistry, natural products biosynthesis djtantillo@ucdavis.edu 4465 Chemistry Annex
Wang, Lee-Ping Energy conversion in catalysis and biomolecules; theoretical and computational chemistry

leeping@ucdavis.edu

163C Chemistry

At UC Davis, a key concept of graduate education is the graduate group.  UC Davis graduate programs are organized as interdisciplinary graduate groups, giving students intellectual freedom to transcend disciplines and areas of research.

Graduate Group Faculty
Baldwin, Enoch Molecular and cellular biology epbaldwin@ucdavis.edu

4B Briggs Hall

Fiehn, Oliver Mass spectrometry and computation chemistry for metabolomics ofiehn@ucdavis.edu

1315 GBSF (Genome Center)

Lagarias, J. Clark Structure, function and evolution of bilin-based photoreceptors jclagarias@ucdavis.edu

31A Briggs Hall

Lam, Kit Lymphoma, targeted therapy for cancer, molecular imaging, drug development and combinatorial chemistry kslam@ucdavis.edu

UCDMC Sacramento

Louie, Angelique Molecular imaging and novel imagine probes aylouie@ucdavis.edu

3317 GBSF (Genome Center)

Moule, Adam Characterization of materials and devices for solution processable photovoltaic devices amoule@ucdavis.edu

3014 Bainer Hall

Parikh, Atul Biomolecular materials, synthetic chemical biology, soft condensed matter anparikh@ucdavis.edu

3007 Ghausi Hall

Wilson, David Structural biochemistry dave@alanine.ucdavis.edu

3B Briggs Hall

Wulff, Heike Design of potassium channel modulators hwulff@ucdavis.edu

3502 GBSF (Genome Center)